Lifeguarding & Safety Classes

American Red Cross Lifeguarding Certification

Want a rewarding and fun summer job? Get certified as a professional American Red Cross lifeguard!

Ages: 15 years and older
Fee: $175, includes book and materials

Participants must be able to pass all American Red Cross assessments with an 80% or better to receive certification. The certification is valid for two years.

Things to know:

  • Skills sessions are Thursday from 5:30-8 p.m., Friday from 4-8 p.m. and Saturday and Sunday from 9 a.m.-5 p.m.
  • Sessions are at Dwight H. Hunter (Northeast) Pool (1100 NE 14th St., 352-334-2190)
  • American Red Cross Lifeguard certification feeFee is $175 and includes books and materials

Prerequisites:

  • Must be able to pass a 300 yard continuous swim using front crawl, breaststroke or a combination of both. Goggles may be worn.
  • Must be able to swim 20 yards using front crawl or breaststroke, surface dive 7–10 feet to retrieve a 10-pound object, return to the surface and swim 20 yards back to the starting point holding the object within 1 minute and 40 seconds. May not use goggles.
  • Must be able to tread water for 2 minutes using only the legs.

2022 Sessions

Session # 1

  • Thursday, March 10, 5:30-8 p.m. – Prerequisite swim test
  • Friday, March 11, 4-8 p.m.
  • Saturday, March 12, 9 a.m.-5  p.m.
  • Sunday, March 13, 9 a.m.-5  p.m.


Session #2

  • Thursday, March 24, 5:30-8 p.m. – Prerequisite swim test
  • Friday, March 25, 4-8 p.m.
  • Saturday, March 26, 9 a.m.-5 p.m.
  • Sunday, March 27, 9 a.m.-5 p.m.


Session #3

  • Thursday, April 7, 5:30-8 p.m. – Prerequisite swim test
  • Friday, April 8, 4-8 p.m.
  • Saturday, April 9, 9 a.m.-5 p.m.
  • Sunday, April 10, 9 a.m.-5 p.m.


Session #4

  • Thursday, April 21, 5:30-8 p.m. – Prerequisite swim test
  • Friday, April 22, 4-8 p.m.
  • Saturday, April 23, 9 a.m.-5 p.m.
  • Sunday, April 24, 9 a.m.-5 p.m.


Session #5

  • Thursday, May 5, 5:30-8 p.m. – Prerequisite swim test
  • Friday, May 6, 4-8 p.m.
  • Saturday, May 7, 9 a.m.-5 p.m.
  • Sunday, May 8, 9 a.m.-5 p.m.


Session #6

  • Thursday, May 19, 5:30-8 p.m. – Prerequisite swim test
  • Friday, May 20, 4-8 p.m.
  • Saturday, May 21, 9 a.m.-5 p.m.
  • Sunday, May 22, 9 a.m.-5 p.m.

Register Online