Swearing-In Ceremony for Mayor and District 4 Commissioner


The City Commission will hold a special meeting Thursday, May 5 at noon to officially swear in Mayor-elect Lauren Poe and Commissioner-elect Adrian Hayes-Santos (district 4). Mayor-elect Lauren Poe and Commissioner-elect Adrian Hayes-Santos were both elected in March. Each will each serve a three-year term in office. In addition, the City Commission will elect a Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem for the 2016-2017 term. Commissioner Craig Carter currently serves as Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem.

The swearing-in ceremony will take place at the Thelma Boltin Center, which is located at 516 NE Second Ave. Limited parking is available in the parking lot directed across from the Thelma Boltin Center. Attendees should arrive early to ensure they have a seat at the ceremony. Light refreshments will be served immediately following the ceremony. The event is open to the public.

Members of the news media are asked to prominently display media credentials. Doors will open to media representatives for set-up at 11 a.m. City staff will direct media representatives to set-up locations. A multiple input communications box will be available to provide a clean audio signal to news media representatives on a first come, first serve basis. All media representatives are asked to complete set-up of cameras and audio recorders no later than 11:40 a.m.