Swearing-In Ceremony for At-large 1 and District 1 Commissioners


The City Commission will hold a special meeting Thursday, May 17 at noon to officially swear-in Commissioner-elect Gail Johnson (at-large 1) and Commissioner-elect Gigi Simmons(district 1). Commissioner-elect Johnson and Commissioner-elect Simmons were elected in March and April respectively. Each will each serve a three-year term in office. In addition, the City Commission will elect a Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem for the 2018-2019 term. Commissioner Harvey Budd currently serves as Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem.

The swearing-in ceremony will take place at the Thelma Boltin Center, which is located at 516 NE Second Ave. Limited parking is available in the parking lot directed across from the Thelma Boltin Center. Attendees should arrive early to ensure they have a seat at the ceremony.