Building Inspection

The Building Inspection Department is responsible for issuing building permits, performing inspections, and providing plan review for all new and remodeled construction performed in the City of Gainesville. We are located on the first floor of the historic Thomas Center, 306 NE 6th Ave., Building B.  Our office hours are:

  • General office hours: Monday through Thursday from 7:00 am to 6:00 pm; Friday from 7:00 am to 4:00 pm.
  • Permitting:  As of December 11, 2014, the Building Inspection Department began accepting some types of permit applications and payment on-line through our Citizen Access Portal.  (See our Permit Forms website for more information.)  Where on-line permit applications are not allowed, permit applications are accepted in the office from 7:00 am to 4:00 pm Monday through Friday.  Where a plan review is not required and the applicant has made previous arrangements with the Building Inspection Department, permit applications are accepted via FAX between the hours of 7:00 a.m. and 3:00 p.m. Monday through Friday.  
  • Inspection scheduling: Contractors who are registered with the City of Gainesville Building Inspection Department can now register to use the Citizen's Access Portal at any time to schedule an inspection for any future workday.  All other requests for inspections are accepted from 7:30 am to 4:00 pm Monday through Friday with the inspection being scheduled for the next working day.  (See the Inspection section of our website for more information.)  
  • Inspections:  Inspections are performed between 8:00 am and 4:00 pm Monday through Friday. Office hours for all inspectors are 4:00 pm to 5:00 pm Monday through Thursday.
  • Verifying inspection status:  If you would like to check on the status of a permit or inspection, please check out our Public Permit Access section in the ribbon on the left.  If you're not familiar with the operation of our Public Permit Access section, check out the tutorial.

Applicable Codes

All structures shall comply with the City of Gainesville zoning ordinances and applicable codes as identified in the Applicable Codes tab below.

EMPLOYEE RECOGNIZED FOR TERRIFIC SERVICE

On April 17, 2016, John Freeland, Building Official for the City of Gainesville, received an E-mail message from Trish Bond recognizing the service and professionalism recently provided to her and her husband by Kara Paulson, one of our Customer Service Support Specialists.  We appreciate Mrs. Bond sharing her experience with us and wish her and her husband the best of luck in their endeavors.

TIS THE SEASON (TO RETIRE)

While the weather hasn't totally acknowledged it yet, it is Spring.  While many of us still have to work, our thoughts begin to swing toward outdoor recreational activities, and we envy those who have joined the status of "retired" and are able to enjoy this wonderful time of year.  Recent retirements include Nancy Testa, the former First Step Coordinator, and David Rovell-Rixx, our former Chief Plans Examiner.  Adding to this list are our Plumbing/Fire Inspector Gene Stockman, who will be retiring on April 15th after 20 years with the city, and our Chief Mechanical/Fire Inspector John Martin, who will be retiring on April 30th after almost 22 years with the city.  Please help us in congratulating all of our retirees on their retirement, and help us thank them for their fine work for the City of Gainesville.

BUILDING DEPARTMENT EFFORTS RECOGNIZED

On March 21, 2016, Building Official John Freeland received a letter from Jennifer Lyons of Trimark Properties recognizing the Building Departments efforts to provide quality service, even in the face of adverse conditions.  We appreciate the ability to work with such quality companies as Trimark, and hope to continue to provide quality service.

 

NEW BUILDING CODE WENT INTO EFFECT ON JUNE 30, 2015

In accordance with Florida Statute 553.73(7)(a), the Fifth Edition of the Florida Building Code will go into effect on June 30, 2015.  The Fifth Edition of the Florida Building Code is based on the Florida Specific version of the 2012 editions of The International Codes as published by the International Code Council (ICC), and the specific editions of referenced standards identified therein.  More information concerning the adoption of the Fifth Edition of the Florida Building Code and access to a read-only version of the code is available on the Florida Building Commission's website.

NEW FIRE PREVENTION CODE WENT INTO EFFECT DECEMBER 31, 2014

In accordance with Florida Statute 633.202(1), the Fifth Edition of the Florida Fire Prevention Code went into effect on December 31, 2014.  The Fifth Edition of the Florida Fire Prevention Code is based on the Florida Specific versions of the 2012 editions of NFPA 1, Fire Prevention Code, and NFPA 101, Life Safety Code, and the specific editions of referenced standards identified therein.  More information concerning the adoption of the Fifth Edition of the Florida Fire Prevention Code and access to a read-only version of the code is available on the State Fire Marshal's website.  

LIMITED ON-LINE PERMITTING NOW AVAILABLE THROUGH CITIZEN ACCESS

Starting December 11, 2014, the Building Inspection Department will begin accepting some types of permit applications and payment on-line through our Citizen Access Portal. Contractors and property owners that have previously registered in-person with the Building Inspection Department as required by the Florida Statutes will be allowed to use this service to apply for permits that do not require a plan review.  This includes some types of mechanical and electrical permits, as well as permits for garage doors, roofing, HVAC change outs, water heater replacements, plumbing re-piping, gas piping, and window and door replacements.  Please note that this is an application for a permit and that the permit will not become active until it has been approved and issued by the Building Inspection Department.  Please see the Online Permit Request and Payment Tutorial for more information.

ATTENTION CONTRACTORS AND HOMEOWNERS

The Gainesville Building Department has implemented our new ‘on-line’ internet Inspection program called CITIZEN ACCESS.

What is it?  CITIZEN ACCESS is an internet web site where you can register with the City of Gainesville Building Department and request building inspections on-line.  You will no longer have to come to the Building Department or call us.  Everything you need to do to request an inspection will be available via internet at your convenience 24/7 .

Who can use it?  If you have a computer, internet access and a business e-mail, contractor e-mail, or personal e-mail address, you will be able to use CITIZEN ACCESS.

How it works:  Once you have applied and paid for a building permit and the work has been completed and is ready for inspection, you can go to the GRU CITIZEN ACCESS web site and request the inspection on-line.  Your request will be automatically assigned to a Building Inspector. It’s as simple as that.

No more gas costs, drive time, phone calls or waiting. CITIZEN ACCESS will save you time and money.

(See the Citizen's Access tutorial  on the Inspections page of our website for more information on how to register.)

The Codes in effect in our jurisdiction are listed below.  All structures shall comply with the city of Gainesville zoning ordinances and construction codes including the following: 

Building Inspection

Department Head:
John Freeland
Contact:
Phone: 352-334-5050
Fax: 352-334-2207
bldg@cityofgainesville.org
Address:
P.O. Box 490
Station 9
32627-0490
Social: