Building Inspection

The Building Inspection Department is responsible for issuing building permits, performing inspections, and providing plan review for all new and remodeled construction performed in the City of Gainesville. We are located on the first floor of the historic Thomas Center, 306 NE 6th Ave., Building B.  Our office hours are:

  • General office hours: Monday through Thursday from 7:00 am to 6:00 pm; Friday from 7:00 am to 1:00 pm.
  • Permitting:  ***NEW***  Starting December 11, 2014, the Building Inspection Department will begin accepting some types of permit applications and payment on-line through our Citizen Access Portal.  (See our Permit Forms website for more information.)  Where on-line permit applications are not allowed, permit applications are accepted in the office from 7:00 am to 5:00 pm Monday through Thursday and from 7:00 am to 1:00 pm on Fridays.  
  • Inspection scheduling: Contractors who are registered with the City of Gainesville Building Inspection Department can now register to use the Citizen's Access Portal at any time to schedule an inspection for any future workday.  All other requests for inspections are accepted from 7:30 am to 4:30 pm Monday through Friday with the inspection being scheduled for the next working day.  (See the Inspection section of our website for more information.)  
  • Inspections:  Inspections are performed between 8:00 am and 4:00 pm Monday through Friday. Office hours for all inspectors are 4:00 pm to 5:00 pm Monday through Thursday.
  • Verifying inspection status:  If you would like to check on the status of a permit or inspection, please check out our Public Permit Access section in the ribbon on the left.  If you're not familiar with the operation of our Public Permit Access section, check out the tutorial.

Applicable Codes

All structures shall comply with the City of Gainesville zoning ordinances and applicable codes as identified in the Applicable Codes tab below.

BUILDING INSPECTION DEPARTMENT CLOSED FOR CHRISTMAS HOLIDAY.

The Building Inspection Department will be closed on Thursday, December 25, 2014, and Friday, December 26, 2014, for the Christmas holiday.  We will re-open on Monday,December 29, 2014, at our normal time.  Since no inspections will be performed on Thursday or Friday, inspections that are called in on Wednesday, December 24, 2014, will be performed on Monday, December 29, 2014.  We hope you have a happy and safe holiday season.

LIMITED ON-LINE PERMITTING NOW AVAILABLE THROUGH CITIZEN ACCESS

Starting December 11, 2014, the Building Inspection Department will begin accepting some types of permit applications and payment on-line through our Citizen Access Portal. Contractors and property owners that have previously registered in-person with the Building Inspection Department as required by the Florida Statutes will be allowed to use this service to apply for permits that do not require a plan review.  This includes some types of mechanical and electrical permits, as well as permits for garage doors, roofing, HVAC change outs, water heater replacements, plumbing re-piping, gas piping, and window and door replacements.  Please note that this is an application for a permit and that the permit will not become active until it has been approved and issued by the Building Inspection Department.  Please see the Online Permit Request and Payment Tutorial for more information.

ATTENTION CONTRACTORS AND HOMEOWNERS

The Gainesville Building Department has implemented our new ‘on-line’ internet Inspection program called CITIZEN ACCESS.

What is it?  CITIZEN ACCESS is an internet web site where you can register with the City of Gainesville Building Department and request building inspections on-line.  You will no longer have to come to the Building Department or call us.  Everything you need to do to request an inspection will be available via internet at your convenience 24/7 .

Who can use it?  If you have a computer, internet access and a business e-mail, contractor e-mail, or personal e-mail address, you will be able to use CITIZEN ACCESS.

How it works:  Once you have applied and paid for a building permit and the work has been completed and is ready for inspection, you can go to the GRU CITIZEN ACCESS web site and request the inspection on-line.  Your request will be automatically assigned to a Building Inspector. It’s as simple as that.

No more gas costs, drive time, phone calls or waiting. CITIZEN ACCESS will save you time and money.

(See the Citizen's Access tutorial  on the Inspections page of our website for more information on how to register.)

Extended Hours

As of November 22, 2013, the Building Inspection Department has offered extended permitting hours. The Building Inspection Department is now open to the public for permitting on Fridays from 7:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. until further notice.

The Codes in effect in our jurisdiction are listed below.  All structures shall comply with the city of Gainesville zoning ordinances and construction codes including the following: 

Building Inspection

Department Head:
John Freeland
Contact:
Phone: 352-334-5050
Fax: 352-334-2207
bldg@cityofgainesville.org
Address:
P.O. Box 490
Station 9
32627-0490
Social: