City Elections

2022 City Commission Elections

The City of Gainesville will hold elections in August 2022 for the Mayor At-Large seat and City Commission District 2 seat, City Commission District 3 seat and City Commission District 4 seat. This is a non-partisan election.

Election Day

Election Day for the City of Gainesville election is Tuesday, August 23, 2022. Polling places are open from 7 a.m.-7 p.m. on Election Day. If needed, the runoff date is Tuesday, November 8, 2022.

What's On The Ballot

  • Gainesville Mayor At-Large
  • Gainesville City Commission, District 2
  • Gainesville City Commission, District 3 
  • Gainesville City Commission, District 4

The at-large races may be voted on by all registered voters living within Gainesville city limits. District races may be voted on by all registered voters living within that specific district.

Election Forms


Vote-by-mail by requesting a vote-by-mail ballot. 

Early Voting

Dates and times

Early voting dates and times have yet to be determined


Early voting locations have yet to be determined

Precinct Voting

Voting at your polling place on Election Day is easy. Remember to bring picture and signature identification. For more information on the types of identification accepted at the polls, view Accepted Types of Identification. You can find which precinct you are assigned to vote at by looking at your Voter Information Card. For more information, view Alachua County Precincts & Polling Places.

Sample Ballots

Sample ballots will be available closer to the election. Please check back.

Canvassing Board

The Canvassing Board schedule has yet to be determined.

For more information regarding the City of Gainesville Canvassing Board, please click here.

Financial Reports

For submitted financial reports, please view Financial Report Information

For more information regarding elections, please contact the Gainesville City Clerk at 352-334-5015 or