Police & Fire Pension

A Florida Statutory Board of Trustees oversees, and city staff administers, the City of Gainesville Consolidated Police Officers' and Firefighters' Pension Plan. The Board is composed of five (5) members; two (2) year terms): two (2) members appointed by the City Commission; one (1) Police Officer and one (1) Firefighter elected by eligible members of the Police Officers' and Firefighters' Retirement Plan; and a (1) fifth member chosen by a majority of the previous four members and such person shall be appointed by the legislative body of the municipality. City residency required for the two (2) members appointed by the City Commission.

The Summary Plan Description (SPD) for the Consolidated Police Officers' and Firefighters' Pension Plan can be accessed below: 
Consolidated Police Officers' and Firefighters' Plan - Police SPD
Consolidated Police Officers' and Firefighters' Plan - Firefighters SPD

The SPDs are only intended to introduce employees to the plan and answer the most frequently asked questions. 

Police and Fire Pension
Actuarial Valuation Reports 2014 2015 2016
Government Accounting Standards Board
(GASB) 67 and 68 Reports
2014 (67) 2015 (67)
2016 (67)
112.664 State Disclosure Reports 2014 2015  
Auditor's Reports 2014 2015 2016
Fund 607, 608, 625, 628 Post Audit Financial Statements  2014 (pg. 390)
2015 (pg.396)  2016 (pg. 401)
Performance Report   2015 2016

Consolidated Board of Trustees:

Mark Boals (Firefighter) (Chairperson) 
Wayne South (Police Officer) 
Steve Varvel (City Appointee) 
Walter Barry (City Appointee)
Dr. David Denslow (Fifth Member)